Euro-Mediterranean Information System on know-how in the Water sector
International portal

News Call for nominations for the 8th edition of the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards

The Secretariat of the Convention on Wetlands has the honour to announce the call for nominations for the eighth edition of the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards, to be presented at the 14th meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties (COP14) in Wuhan, China.

The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards recognize and honour the contributions of individuals, organizations, and governments around the world in promoting the conservation and wise use of wetlands.

They were established at COP6 in 1996 through Resolution VI.18, and have been awarded seven times. The eighth edition will be awarded at COP14, which will take place in Wuhan, China in 2021.

Three Awards will accordingly be granted in the following categories:

  1. the Ramsar Convention Award for Wetland Wise Use;
  2. the Ramsar Convention Award for Wetland Innovation; and
  3. the Ramsar Convention Award for Young Wetland Champions.

Nominations must be submitted in one of the three above-mentioned categories only.

For inquiries email:
The deadline for the receipt of nominations is 31 May 2021.

Contact information n/a
News type Inbrief
File link
Source of information medwet
Geographical coverage n/a
News date 09/03/2021
Working language(s) ENGLISH , FRENCH , SPANISH